Book Review: Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay

The Sea of TranquilityThe Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

When you think about it, The Sea of Tranquility isn’t actually a sea; just a long stretch of barren land named so with great hopes of hospitality. Just like the Cape of Good Hope is. What you are called isn’t what that matters… It’s what you really are that’s important. The Shakespeare quote about names, and roses, is inevitable but yet so clichรฉd, I’d rather not use it. So you, my friend, just say it in your mind, and pretend I really typed it here:

“…………………………………” ๐Ÿ˜€ Tada!

So, back to the point. Nastya’s story is so like the misleadingly named Lunar landform, that the book’s title was perfect.

Her name was Nastya. Does that mean she’s Russian? Does her nationality make any difference? Nastya was a girl broken; she left behind everyone to escape her past. Josh was a boy always left behind; and left broken. When they did meet, of course it wasn’t love at first sight. But they let the other be. And in the process, were for them in return.

Reading about them was like watching someone bake a cake (and I say WATCH because I do not bake…that are tasty. They just turn out to be edible but that’s not the point). It was slow, sometimes arduous, but interesting. A dash thrilling too. You know, a really nice cake on the way – given the whole lot of issues they have, a bittersweet one. It was a ride topsy and turvy, a bundle of emotional turmoil. And I loved every moment of all. What started as a girl’s silent scream and a boy’s deadzone led to an ascent and at the cresceno, the pain was acknowledged… and released.

Emotionally charged and beautifully written, it gets a wholly deserved 5 star rating ๐Ÿ™‚

View all my reviews

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay

  1. I was interested in seeing if you had reviewed this book. It speaks to me, but I haven’t been ready for it. Great blog you have here. Thanks for the shout out on my little something I’ve started. I means a lot.

    • It’s a beautiful book, one of healing and recovery, and of course teenage romance *grins* What kind of books do you prefer?

      You’re welcome about the shout-out… I’ve started new too and I know how great it is when someone links to you ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I does feel nice.

        My book preference changes. Right now I am reading the Redhead Series- Alice Clayton, really funny romance. I love Colleen Hoover and Molly McAdams. S.C. Stephens, Tina Reber, Tara Sivec (also funny)…etc, ad nauseum, ๐Ÿ™‚

        But I really love finding new authors that I haven’t read before, reading how they pattern their words differently and seeing the expressions they use. I fall a little bored if I read the same author over and over. I did that to my self with Bella Andre books…I had to get a break. (BTW- the Sullivan series is really good!)

        But then, my naughty side leans toward Tymber Dalton, Sylvia Day, Sylvain Reynard. Oh, my.

        You?

      • Wow that’s a great list – I know some, don’t know some – I’ll definitely look them up ๐Ÿ™‚ I just ADORE dystopia and novels in the YA range (it’s not really a genre after all) and historical romances… (they are romantic after all ha ๐Ÿ˜€ )

        Listing authors: I’m loyal to those I love but I always keep hunting for new authors too!

        *taking up your advice to check out Sullivan series ๐Ÿ˜‰ *

      • Don’t stop after the first one. They progressively get better and better. Enjoy.

        I have never read a dystopian novel. I am curious though. I just always have a few books nagging me from my shelf when I select.

      • Thanks for the recommendations! ๐Ÿ™‚

        I love Dystopia – not all of them are good, of course, but as a genre it has a lot of freedom. More often or not you can actually see that in the future something monstrous can actually stem from our actions today… It really makes you look at the world in a new way… At least that’s what I feel ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Pingback: Not Quite Wednesday Review because I am slack! « Fifty Shades of Tribute – Sasha Cameron

Do say somethin' :)

